skip to main content
Home  /  Departments


The Division is home to seven departments: Aerospace (GALCIT), the Andrew and Peggy Cherng Department of Medical Engineering, Applied Physics and Materials Science, Computing and Mathematical Sciences, Electrical Engineering, Environmental Science and Engineering, and Mechanical and Civil Engineering. The Division operates two major laboratory centers: the Center for Autonomous Systems and Technologies (CAST) and the Kavli Nanoscience Institute (KNI); supports many non-laboratory-based centers and programs, including Information Science and Technology (IST), Sensing to Intelligence (S2I), and the Institute for Quantum Information and Matter (IQIM); and has many links to the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL).